Skip to main content


Riprap (Kyoto, Japan: Origin Press, 1959).

Myths & Texts (New York: Totem Press/Corinth Books, 1960; London: Centaur, 1960).

Riprap & Cold Mountain Poems (San Francisco: Four Seasons Foundation, 1965).

Six Sections from Mountains and Rivers without End (San Francisco: Four Seasons Foundation, 1965; London: Fulcrum Press, 1967); enlarged and republished as Six Sections from Mountains and Rivers without End Plus One (San Francisco: Four Seasons Foundation, 1970).

A Range of Poems (London: Fulcrum Press, 1966).

The Back Country (London: Fulcrum Press, 1967; New York: New Directions, 1968).

Regarding Wave (Iowa City: Windhover Press, 1969; enlarged edition, New York: New Directions, 1970; London: Fulcrum Press, 1972).

Manzanita (Bolinas, Cal.: Four Seasons Foundation, 1972).

The Fudo Trilogy (Berkeley: Shaman Drum, 1973).

Turtle Island (New York: New Directions, 1974).

Axe Handles (San Francisco: North Point Press, 1983).

Left Out in the Rain: New Poems 1947-1985 (San Francisco: North Point Press, 1986).

No Nature: New and Selected Poems (New York: Pantheon, 1992).

North Pacific Lands & Waters: A Further Six Sections (Waldron Island: Brooding Heron Press, 1993).


Earth House Hold: Technical Notes & Queries for Fellow Dharma Revolutionaries (New York: New Directions, 1969; London: Cape, 1970).

The Old Ways: Six Essays (San Francisco: City Lights, 1977).

He Who Hunted Birds in His Father's Village: The Dimensions of a Haida Myth (Bolinas, Cal.: Grey Fox, 1979).

The Real Work: Interviews & Talks 1964-1979, edited by William Scott McLean (New York: New Directions, 1980).

The Practice of the Wild (San Francisco: North Point Press, 1990).

A Place in Space: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Watersheds: New and Selected Prose (Washington, D.C.: Counterpoint, 1995).